“A must-read for fans of Lori Wilde and Jennifer Ryan.”

—Lisa, A Tasty Read Book Reviews

Norah

Book 2 in the McKades of Texas Series

He may not be a cowboy ... but that won't stop him from wrangling her heart.

Chase O'Donnell is the proud new owner of the Caldwell Ranch—or maybe he's not so proud. Annoyed would be more like it. With the untimely news of his inheritance, his first thought is to sell the ranch fast and get back to Dallas …until a certain beautiful bartender has him second-guessing his plans…

Norah McKade may have been literally knocked off her feet upon meeting her handsome new neighbor, but deep down she knows falling for Chase isn't an option—not when he's only in town on a temporary basis. But Chase isn't ready to give up so easily—not when this cowgirl's scorching kisses dominate his every thought. Can he convince Norah that falling for him isn't a bad thing? Or will Norah's stubbornness get in the way of her shot at happily-ever-after?

READ AN EXCERPT | READ THE REVIEWS | AUDIOBOOK SAMPLE

READ AN EXCERPT

A knock at the door distracted him, and he placed the pot back on the stove, a little more forcefully than he’d intended, and knocked over the hen shaped saltshaker.

“I’m coming,” Chase shouted from the kitchen as he fixed the saltshaker and headed towards the front door.

For being in the middle of nowhere he sure was getting an awful lot of visitors, way more than he had living in his apartment in the city, and it was starting to annoy the crap out of him. He wasn’t much of a morning person to begin with, and with everything that had happened already that morning, plus the fact that he hadn’t had his coffee yet, Chase was already past the boiling point. He swung open the front door with an exasperated “What?” and froze.

“Oh,” Norah said, staring at him with a confused yet surprised expression. “It’s you.”

Holy shit. “Uh, yeah, it’s me,” he replied, pleased to see her yet wondering why she was standing on his front porch.

Norah let out a tiny laugh and shook her head. “I’m sorry. I’m just…surprised to see you here.”

Think of something clever to say, O’Donnell.

“So you aren’t here to make a house call?”

And boy did that come out all wrong. He regretted his choice of words as soon as they came out of his mouth.

Way to make her sound like a prostitute.

“Excuse me?”

“Checking up on your patient,” Chase quickly explained and pointed to the bandaged cut above his eye. “Like doctors do.”

“Oh…umm,” she said and let out another soft laugh. “No, I, uh, honestly didn’t know you were here.” She looked up and held his gaze for a moment before directing her eyes to his cut. “How does your head feel this morning?”

“Fine,” he replied, smiling and leaning against the doorframe. “So if you’re not here to check up on me, can I ask why you are here?”

“Oh, God, yes of course you can,” Norah said. “I was just on my way over to take care of the livestock, and I saw this SUV parked up here that I’ve never seen before, which now I’m assuming is your SUV.”

“You’d be correct,” he said, still smiling as he watched her explain herself and enjoying how downright adorable she was when she was nervous.

“Anyway, I wasn’t sure who was up here so I called the Sheriff’s Department and—”

“So you called the cops on me?” His smile widened at her obvious discomfort.

Letting out an embarrassed sigh, Norah brought her hand to her face and covered her eyes. “Yes.” She took her hand away and looked him in the eye. “God, I’m so sorry. That must’ve been some wake up call.”

He laughed. “You could say that.”

“Well, when Ernie, I mean Deputy Woodson, told me you that you were the new owner he suggested that I introduce myself.”

“And why would he suggest that?”

“Because technically we’re neighbors,” she told him, then jerked her thumb to the left. “My family’s ranch borders yours.”

He followed her gesture and looked out upon the land, seeing nothing but miles and miles of tall grass against the morning sky. It was a rather beautiful sight, but not as beautiful as the sight before him. Chase hadn’t been able to stop thinking about Norah since he left the bar the night before, so it was quite a shock for him to see her standing on his front porch at seven a.m.—almost as if his mind had conjured her here.

“Well,” Chase said, then held his hand out. “It’s very nice to meet you, neighbor.”

She let out a soft laugh and shook his hand. “Very nice to meet you too.”

God, she looked good. He’d bet everything he had that she woke up looking like that, and he’d give everything he had to get the chance to find out.

BONUS TEASERS ...

 

web divider2

REVIEWS

“Smokin’ Hawt!” at I am a Book Addict and Proud of it!: “Norah is so sassy and her attitude just makes you smile…Chase is the ultimate naughty boy, and I like my boys-ah men, naughty!” Click here to read the full review

A Tasty Read Book Reviews: “…a story about finding love in a small-podunk town…emotional, funny and just plain ole’ Good!” Click here to read the full review

5 Stars! Written Love: “…filled with humor, laughter, good times, bad times, reconciliation, healing, and love. Ms. Lewis is an author to look out for, and one whose books I’ll be adding to my “Read Again” shelf for sure.” Click here to read the full review

web divider2

AUDIOBOOK SAMPLE